Skip to content

About us 

The Guild

The Austrian Directors’ Guild (Verband Filmregie Österreich) — known as Regieverband — currently has around 100 members and is the largest representative body of screen directors working in Austria. It was founded in 1989 as a non-profit association and emerged from the Filmmakers’ Syndicate (Syndikat der Filmschaffenden), which had been founded 12 years earlier. The Directors’ Guild is non-partisan. It is run in an honorary capacity by a six-member board, which is elected annually from among the members.

Mission Statement

The Directors' Guild has made it its mission to stand up for the artistic and intellectual freedoms as well as the professional and economic interests of film directors and to participate in the development of improved structures for cinema, television and streaming. Our members reflect the great diversity of Austrian film in feature, documentary, essay and experimental film. We are committed to equal access to the means of production of filmmaking: for diverse artistic approaches, different social milieus as well as the variety of narrative perspectives that make up our society.

Our goals

For more than 30 years, we have been advocating for production conditions that make creative work possible, for a constant improvement in remuneration conditions as well as compliance with and improvement of labor law conditions, for minimum standards in director’s contracts, the strengthening of the copyright position of directors, the promotion of further professional training, a progressive cultural, media and film policy as well as the preservation of film as a cultural heritage.

We are constantly working to improve the framework conditions for the contractual, legal and social aspects of everyday professional life, with the aim of enabling our members to concentrate primarily on their creative work. We make it clear that creatives are the capital of the film industry. We are committed to overcoming antagonisms and call for an environment of mutual equality in the industry.

Our capabilities

We continuously represent the interests of directors vis-à-vis film funding institutions, the film industry, television broadcasters, the trade union, ministries and parliament. We nominate members for decision-making bodies in the film industry, e.g. the Supervisory Board of the Austrian Film Institute, the Oscar Commission of the Austrian Chamber of Commerce’s film division, the Curia of the KSVF Artists’ Social Insurance Fund, the Board of Directors and the Supervisory Board of VdFS Collecting Society of Audiovisual Authors, the Advisory Board under the Art Subsidy Contribution Act, etc.

We are also a member of AFC — Austrian Films and represented on its board, a member of the Umbrella Association of Austrian Filmmakers (Dachverband der Österreichischen Filmschaffenden) and represented on its board, and a member of the European Directors’ Association FERA and represented in its general assembly. In addition, we maintain a constant exchange with other interest groups in our industry.

Current board of directors

Kurdwin Ayub (chairwoman)
Arman T. Riahi (chairwoman deputy)
Franz Novotny
Veronika Franz
Sebastian Brameshuber
Adrian Goiginger

Membership

Find out here about the possibility of becoming a member of our association.

Association statutes

Association statutes in full

Contact

Verband Filmregie Österreich
c/​o VDFS
Löwelstraße 14/1.Stock
1010 Wien

office@​austrian-​directors.​com
www​.aus​tri​an​-direc​tors​.com

Imprint

Verband Filmregie Österreich
c/​o VDFS
Löwelstraße 14 / 1st Floor
1010 Vienna, Austria

ZVR-Nr. 614918003

office@​austrian-​directors.​com

Data Protection

Website design
www​.stu​dio​-es​.at

Zum Inhalt springen

Über uns 

Der Verband

Der Verband Filmregie Österreich – besser bekannt als Regieverband – ist mit aktuell rund 100 Mitgliedern die größte Interessenvertretung in Österreich tätiger Regisseur:innen. Er wurde 1989 als gemeinnütziger Verein gegründet und ging aus dem 12 Jahre früher gegründeten Syndikat der Filmschaffenden hervor. Der Regieverband ist überparteilich. Er wird ehrenamtlich von einem sechsköpfigen Vorstand geleitet, der jährlich aus dem Kreis der Mitglieder gewählt wird.

Mission Statement

Der Regieverband hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, für die künstlerischen und intellektuellen Freiheiten sowie die beruflichen und wirtschaftlichen Interessen der Filmregisseur:innen einzutreten und an der Entwicklung verbesserter Strukturen für Kino, Fernsehen und Streaming mitzuwirken. Unsere Mitglieder spiegeln die große Vielfalt des österreichischen Films im Spiel-, Dokumentar-, Essay- und Experimentalfilm wider. Wir engagieren uns für einen gleichberechtigten Zugang zu den Produktionsmitteln des Filmschaffens: für diverse künstlerische Ansätze, unterschiedliche soziale Milieus sowie die Vielfalt an Erzählperspektiven, die unsere Gesellschaft ausmacht.

Unsere Ziele

Wir engagieren uns seit über 30 Jahren für Produktionsbedingungen, die kreative Arbeit möglich machen, für eine ständige Verbesserung der Honorarbedingungen sowie die Einhaltung und Verbesserung der arbeitsrechtlichen Bedingungen, für Mindeststandards bei Regieverträgen, die Stärkung der urheberrechtlichen Position der Regisseur:innen, die Förderung der beruflichen Weiterbildung, eine fortschrittliche Kultur‑, Medien- und Filmpolitik sowie die Erhaltung des Films als Kulturgut.

Wir arbeiten beständig an der Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen für die vertraglichen, juristischen und sozialen Seiten des Berufsalltags mit dem Ziel, dass sich unsere Mitglieder in erster Linie auf ihre kreative Arbeit konzentrieren können. Wir machen deutlich, dass die Kreativen das Kapital der Filmbranche sind. Wir setzen uns dafür ein, Gegensätze zu überwinden und fordern ein gleichwertiges Miteinander in der Branche.

Unsere Möglichkeiten

Wir vertreten kontinuierlich die Interessen von Regisseur:innen gegenüber Filmförderinstitutionen, der Filmwirtschaft, den Fernsehanstalten, der Gewerkschaft, den Ministerien und dem Parlament. Wir nominieren Mitglieder für Entscheidungsgremien der Filmbranche, z. B. den Aufsichtsrat des Österreichischen Filminstituts, die Oscar-Kommission des Fachverbands der Wirtschaftskammer Österreich, die Kurien des KSVF Künstlersozialversicherungsfonds, den Vorstand und den Aufsichtsrat der VdFS – Verwertungsgesellschaft der Filmschaffenden, den Beirat nach dem Kunstförderungsbeitragsgesetz u. a. m.

Wir sind außerdem Mitglied von AFC – Austrian Films und dort im Vorstand vertreten, Mitglied des Dachverbands der österreichischen Filmschaffenden und dort im Vorstand vertreten sowie Mitglied des europäischen Regieverbands FERA und in deren Generalversammlung vertreten. Zusätzlich pflegen wir den ständigen Austausch mit anderen Interessenvertretungen unserer Branche.

Aktueller Vorstand

Kurdwin Ayub (Obfrau)
Arman T. Riahi (Stv.)
Franz Novotny
Veronika Franz
Sebastian Brameshuber
Adrian Goiginger

Mitgliedschaft

Informiere Dich hier über die Möglichkeit, Mitglied in unserem Verband zu werden.

Kontakt

Verband Filmregie Österreich
c/​o VDFS
Löwelstraße 14/1.Stock
1010 Wien

office@​austrian-​directors.​com
www​.aus​tri​an​-direc​tors​.com

Impressum

Verband Filmregie Österreich
c/​o VDFS
Löwelstraße 14 / 1. Stock
1010 Wien

ZVR-Nr. 614918003

office@​austrian-​directors.​com

Datenschutzerklärung

Websitegestaltung
www​.stu​dio​-es​.at

Webseite mit freundlicher Unterstützung von